Share Buttons

PartagerShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn


setec designs the Bahrain 2035 national strategic plan


The Kingdom of Bahrain, an island state of around 700 km2   consisting mainly of desert, has enjoyed economic prosperity since the 1930s due to its natural abundance of oil and gas.

However, the decline in these resources has driven the government to plan its transition towards a sustainable economy.

The contract awarded to setec (as part of the French consortium led by Expertise France with AREP and EGIS) involves refocusing the country’s development strategy for a consistent nationwide approach, a better quality of life for inhabitants and a more attractive, diversified economy.

The project combined a French vision of urban development with local skills in economic development. A team of residents supported by back-office teams in France audited processes, suggested new management methods and updated development policies in cooperation with the government authorities in charge of implementation at the end of the two-year contract.

setec urban planners offered proactive, innovative solutions to complex, exciting challenges: housing new inhabitants, optimizing existing cities in a context of scarcer real estate and family cohabitation, preserving and enhancing the seafront while preventing it from being completely privatized, protecting the environment and natural resources, and promoting mobility without increasing the impact of road infrastructures.

  • Client : KINGDOM OF BAHRAIN MINISTRY OF WORKS
  • Prime contractor: Expertise France
  • Co-contractors: AREP and EGIS
  • Total fees : €8.4 million

Partager

PartagerShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn


setec conçoit le plan stratégique national ‘Bahreïn 2035’


Archipel état de 700Km2  environ le royaume en grande partie désertique jouit d’une prospérité économique due à l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz depuis les années 1930. Mais la ressource pétrolière déclinant a incité le Royaume à envisager à une reconversion économique durable.

La commande passée à setec, (au sein du consortium français mené par Expertise France avec AREP et EGIS) consiste à réorienter la stratégie d’aménagement du Royaume de façon à assurer une cohérence territoriale valorisante, une meilleure qualité de vie aux bahreïnis ainsi qu’une attractivité économique nationale accrue et diversifiée.

La mission est développée en croisant la vision française de l’urbanisme et de l’aménagement et les capacités bahreïnis pour le développement économique et l’aménagement. Une équipe de résidents appuyée sur les expertises « backoffice » en France audite les processus,  propose de nouvelles méthodes de gestion de l’aménagement, actualise des politiques d’aménagement en associant les entités gouvernementales qui seront ensuite en charge de leur application au terme des deux ans de cette mission.

Les Urbanistes setec sont forces de proposition et d’innovation face à ces  enjeux  complexes et passionnants : Loger les nouveaux habitants,  Densifier et optimiser l’urbanisation existante dans le contexte de rareté foncière et de cohabitation familiale,  préserver et valoriser le front de mer en évitant sa totale privatisation, ménager l’environnement et les ressources naturelles ou encore permettre une mobilité efficace sans augmenter l’impact des infrastructures routières…

  • Client : ROYAUME DU BAHRAIN MINISTRY OF WORKS
  • Société mandataire : Expertise France
  • Co-traitants: AREP, EGIS
  • Montant de la mission : 8 400 000 €