Share Buttons


Supporting scientific research for innovation and progress is in the group’s DNA.

The benefit for research engineers is the ability to break down the barriers between theory and practice by being confronted with reality, while setec gains an opportunity to inject new technologies into its projects and make them workable for the company. A good example is terrasol, which currently has a number of PhDs and CIFRE PhD students in its teams.

 

Fort – d’Issy – Vanves station (Copyright: @Cédric Helsly)

Fahd Cuira, Scientific director

Fahd Cuira

We encourage engineers to put their research findings into practice and use them day to day, especially in association with our software activity. Currently, we have in our staff two CIFRE PhD students and eight PhDs, some of whom prepared their PhD at terrasol. We also maintain close ties with engineering schools through research and teaching (initial and lifelong education programs).

In total, we are active in around 20 schools. This enables us to train young engineers, familiarize them with our software,  recruit them, as well as build links with future partners and clients.

 


Mathilde Vernay, Engineer and PhD

Mathilde Vernay

After my diploma in civil engineering from Polytech Clermond-Ferrand, I worked on my doctoral thesis at Institut Pascal in Clermont-Ferrand, focusing on an experimental study of the influence of the degree of saturation on the liquefaction behavior of sand. As a PhD/Engineer at terrasol since January 2018, I’m discovering an applied, practical dimension to my field, as well as another way of using my skills. Thanks to my PhD, I’ve acquired knowledge and a different vision of the issues. I chose to join terrasol rather than launch an academic career so I could put into practice the different skills I acquired during my studies. At terrasol, it’s possible to reconcile these two aspects, scientific research and practical applications.

 


Khadija Nejjar, CIFRE PhD student

Khadija Nejjar

As engineers, we need to adapt the ‘ideal’ model of scientific research to a complex reality.”

I am a graduate of Mines Nancy and I chose geotechnics since it’s the first step in any civil engineering project, as well as the main source of uncertainty impacting design. During my third year, I did a MSC in geotechnics at École des Ponts, and worked my final internship at terrasol on irreversible post-seismic displacements. I jumped at the opportunity to carry out a CIFRE PhD at terrasol on the behavior of retaining structures for deep excavations, applied to the Grand Paris Express project (excavations to a depth of 60 m). The objective is to compare the finite element calculation method to the usual subgrade reaction coefficient method, in order to make the design of such retaining structures more reliable. My thesis also aims to provide valuable feedback on these excavations at an unprecedented scale. We have set up full monitoring equipment at the Fort d’Issy–Vanves–Clamart station (the first to undergo construction). I hope to pursue my career at terrasol and soon use the escalators of this Grand Paris station!

 


Jean-Pierre Janin, Engineer and PhD

As part of my studies at the Polytechnic University of Turin, I spent my fifth year on an Erasmus program at INSA Lyon. After obtaining my diploma in Italy, I was contacted by my professors in Lyon. They proposed a CIFRE PhD at terrasol, focusing on the construction of the second Toulon tunnel. The aim of my thesis was to predict the subsidence generated by the tunnels excavated using the traditional method, taking into account the support. I defended my thesis in 2012. It was an applied thesis that led to publications in scientific journals and I used this work later on other projects. I stayed at terrasol and specialized in tunnels engineering. I also keep in touch with academia by teaching classes. I continue to write articles on the practical impact of my doctoral work and this approach won me the Kérisel prize in 2016, which is awarded biannually to young professionals or researchers who have made a significant contribution to improving geotechnical analysis methods.

 


Jesús Pérez Herreros, CIFRE PhD student

Jesus Perez Herreros

After graduating from École des Ponts in 2013, I worked as an engineer in a consulting company specialized in seismic design before being put in touch with an IFSTTAR researcher and a professor from Centrale Nantes who were setting up a PhD on soil-structure interaction in dynamic conditions. terrasol wanted to invest in seismic design research and was immediately interested in the project. The aim of the thesis is to study seismic soil-structure interaction in the case of a structure supported by a group of deep foundations. The thesis considers a coupled numerical and experimental approach, with numerical simulations and scale-model centrifuge testing. A CIFRE thesis offers major benefits for students: supervised by Fahd Cuira at terrasol, as well as the engineering school and the laboratory, I have access to Centrale Nantes’ calculation and library resources, as well as to the geotechnical centrifuge at IFSTTAR Nantes. This means three different ways of approaching the same topic and sometimes a need to make compromises! Academics think in terms of an ideal model. As engineers, we need to adapt this model to a complex reality. terrasol was prepared to accept the approach from a scientific standpoint. This is the company’s philosophy and one of its strong points.

 


CIFRE PhDs: creating links between academia, scientific research and companie

The French government’s CIFRE PhD program provides companies with funding to recruit young researchers working on a thesis supervised by a public research laboratory. The aim is threefold: to reinforce exchanges between public research laboratories and businesses, encourage companies to recruit doctoral graduates and promote corporate innovation.

Partager


S’associer à la recherche scientifique dans une démarche d’innovation et de progrès fait partie de l’ADN du groupe.
A la clé, pour les ingénieurs-chercheurs, la possibilité d’abolir les frontières entre théorie et pratique en se confrontant à la réalité, et pour setec, l’opportunité d’insuffler les technologies de pointe dans ses projets en les rendant applicables au sein de l’entreprise.

Exemple chez terrasol, qui accueille aujourd’hui dans ses effectifs plusieurs ingénieurs docteurs et thèses CIFRE.

 

Photo: travaux Gare de Fort – d’Issy – Vanves (Copyright: @Cédric Helsly)

Fahd Cuira, Directeur scientifique

Fahd Cuira

Nous encourageons les ingénieurs à mettre en pratique et à utiliser dans leur quotidien les résultats de leurs travaux de recherche, en lien notamment avec notre activité logiciels. Actuellement, nous avons deux ingénieurs en thèse CIFRE et huit ingénieurs docteurs, dont certains ont réalisé leur thèse chez terrasol. Par ailleurs nous entretenons des liens étroits avec les écoles, que ce soit à travers des activités de recherche ou d’enseignement (en formations initiale et continue).
Au total, nous sommes présents dans une vingtaine d’écoles. Cela nous permet de former de jeunes ingénieurs, de les familiariser à nos logiciels, de les recruter également, et de tisser des liens avec des futurs partenaires et clients.

 


Mathilde Vernay, ingénieur docteur

Mathilde Vernay

A la suite de mon diplôme en génie civil de Polytech Clermont-Ferrand, j’ai réalisé une thèse au sein du laboratoire Institut Pascal de Clermont-Ferrand, portant sur l’étude expérimentale de l’influence du degré de saturation sur le comportement à la liquéfaction des sables. Ingénieur docteur chez terrasol depuis janvier 2018, je découvre une dimension appliquée et concrète de ma discipline, ainsi qu’une autre façon de l’exercer. Grâce à la thèse, j’ai pu acquérir des connaissances, une vision différente des problématiques. J’ai choisi d’entrer chez terrasol, plutôt que d’entamer une carrière universitaire, pour pouvoir mettre en pratique les différents acquis liés à ma thèse. Il est possible chez terrasol de concilier ces deux aspects, à la fois la recherche scientifique et les applications pratiques.

 


Khadija Nejjar, ingénieur en thèse CIFRE

Khadija Nejjar

Diplômée de l’école des Mines de Nancy, j’ai choisi la géotechnique car c’est la première pierre d’un projet de génie civil et c’est aussi la principale source d’incertitude impactant sa conception. J’ai fait un Master en géotechnique à l’Ecole des Ponts, en parallèle de ma 3ème année, et réalisé mon stage de fin d’études chez terrasol sur les déplacements irréversibles post-séisme. J’ai souscrit à la proposition d’effectuer une thèse CIFRE à terrasol sur le comportement des soutènements d’excavations profondes, en lien avec les travaux du Grand Paris (fouilles prévues jusqu’à 60 mètres de profondeur). Son objectif : comparer la méthode de calcul aux éléments finis à la méthode usuelle aux coefficients de réaction, afin de fiabiliser la conception d’un soutènement d’excavation profonde. Cette thèse vise également à constituer un retour d’expérience valorisable sur ces fouilles d’une ampleur inégalée. Nous avons ainsi mis en place une instrumentation complète sur la gare de Fort d’Issy – Vanves – Clamart (la première en travaux).
J’espère pouvoir poursuivre ma carrière chez terrasol, et emprunter bientôt les escalators de cette gare du Grand Paris !

 


Jean-Pierre Janin, ingénieur docteur

Diplômé de l’Ecole Polytechnique de Turin, j’ai réalisé ma cinquième année en programme Erasmus à l’INSA de Lyon. Après l’obtention de mon diplôme en Italie, j’ai été contacté par mes professeurs de Lyon. Ils m’ont proposé  d’effectuer une thèse CIFRE chez terrasol, dans le cadre de la construction du deuxième tunnel de Toulon. Ma thèse avait pour objet de prédire les tassements générés par les tunnels, réalisés en méthode traditionnelle, avec prise en compte du soutènement. J’ai soutenu ma thèse en 2012. Il s’agissait d’une thèse appliquée qui a donné lieu à des publications dans des revues scientifiques ; j’ai utilisé ces travaux par la suite pour d’autres projets. Je suis resté chez terrasol et me suis spécialisé dans les tunnels. Je continue également à avoir des relations avec le monde universitaire , en donnant des cours. Je continue à écrire des articles sur les retombées pratiques de mon travail de thèse et cette démarche a été couronnée par l’obtention du prix Kérisel en 2016, un prix qui récompense, tous les deux ans, les jeunes professionnels ou chercheurs ayant contribué de manière significative à l’amélioration des méthodes d’analyses utilisées en géotechnique.

 


Jesús Pérez Herreros, ingénieur en thèse CIFRE

Jesus Perez Herreros

Diplômé de l’Ecole des Ponts en 2013, j’ai travaillé en tant qu’ingénieur dans un bureau spécialisé en études parasismiques avant d’être mis en relation avec une chercheuse de l’IFSTTAR et un professeur de l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes qui montaient une thèse sur l’interaction sol-structure en dynamique. terrasol cherchait à s’investir dans un projet de recherche dans le domaine parasismique et s’est tout de suite intéressée à ce projet. L’objet de la thèse est d’étudier l’interaction sol-structure sous séisme dans le cas d’une structure portée par un groupe de fondations profondes. Le problème est abordé via une approche couplée numérique/expérimentale, avec des simulations numériques et des modèles réduits en centrifugeuse. Réaliser une thèse CIFRE présente des avantages importants pour le doctorant : encadré par Fahd Cuira chez terrasol, insi que par l’école et le laboratoire, j’ai accès aux ressources de Centrale Nantes (moyens de calcul, bibliothèque), mais aussi à la centrifugeuse géotechnique de l’IFSTTAR à Nantes. Cela se traduit par trois manières différentes d’approcher le même problème et, parfois, des compromis à trouver ! Le monde académique raisonne sur un modèle idéal. En tant qu’ingénieurs, nous devons adapter ce modèle à une réalité qui est complexe. terrasol était prête à accepter la démarche d’un point de vue scientifique, c’est la philosophie de l’entreprise et l’un de ses points forts.

 


Les thèses CIFRE, pour créer des liens entre le monde académique, la recherche scientifique et l’entreprise

Le dispositif des Conventions Industrielles de Formation par la REcherche (CIFRE) permet à une entreprise de bénéficier d’une aide financière pour recruter un jeune doctorant dont les travaux de recherche, encadrés par un laboratoire public de recherche, conduiront à la soutenance d’une thèse. Sa vocation est de renforcer les échanges entre les laboratoires de recherche publique et les milieux socio-économiques, de favoriser l’emploi des docteurs dans les entreprises et de contribuer au processus d’innovation des entreprises.