setec at the heart of an ecosystem linked to the world of innovation.


From its first days, setec has created a virtuous circle: constantly innovating and producing solutions to build a better world.

Firmly committed to disruptive innovation, setec has thus invented the seteLabs.

Their aim is to interpret future technological or cultural trends. With about thirty motivated employees, they detect innovative projects and ideas, and accompany them to adapt to the business context and the customer’s needs. This approach comes in complement to the research & development activities specific to each subsidiary of the Group

 

AAurélie Guillon, Innovation Process Manager within the setec Group.
Aurélie Guillon, Innovation Process Manager within the setec Group.

 

“Innovation is a very fashionable word. With the setecLabs, we wanted to understand its reality and to find our place in this ecosystem. This an agile approach built over time. The roadmap for setecLab employees was to be the eyes and ears of the group and to identify ideas that will change the world generally speaking and engineering in particular.”

 

 

 

To stay attuned to the latest developments, setec is developing partnerships with major players committed to innovation. Our most recent partnership is with IoT Valley, a community focused on connected objects with Sigfox, the world’s leading low power wide area (LPWA) network operator.

For the second year running, setec is also taking part in the DataCity [DC1] challenge, an open innovation acceleration program focused on smart cites, created by NUMA (an incubator) and the City of Paris.

The aim of this program is to bring together industrial partners, public stakeholders and project owners and to use ever more data to create solutions that meet the needs of future cities.

Since 2014, setec has also been partner with Impulse Labs Construction & Energie, an accelerator housed in the Boucicaut incubator, participated in start-up selection panels and accompanied the Open Innovation Club of Paris & Co in Learning Expeditions (Silicon Valley in 2014, Berlin in 2015).

Engineering entrepreneurs building the future


setec supports external start-up’s (Blockbase and Padam), develops a number of new partnerships, and promotes the Intrapreneurship (setec smart efficiency)

BulldozAIR by Blockbase
A collaborative solution for construction sites

Blockbase, a start-up created in 2012 within the incubator Paris Innovation Boucicaut, developed BulldozAIR, a collaborative mobile solution allowing users to keep track of their projects by exchanging notes or documents on a computer, tablet or smartphone.

setec supported the start-up in its commercial and financial developments. After drawing up corporate specifications, BlockBase has developed a number of specific features for setec. These developments have been tested and validated on four pilot construction sites and is now deployed on major projects such as the Marechaux Tramway in Paris or the RER Express metro Eole.

Intrapreneurship as a business model

The startup spirit is also anchored within the group, which encourages intrapreneurship: good ideas are detected, challenged, experienced and if economic viability is proven, lead to the creation of a “spin-off” ” subsidiary.

setec smart efficiency was created in 2014 to back a proposal to improve the energy performance of buildings. In 2017, the subsidiary employs about 15 employees and continues its agile growth by offering new products.

Cyril Sailly, director of setec smart efficiency.
Cyril Sailly, director of setec smart efficiency.

 

“I started with setec as an environmental design engineer in 2011. In 2014, with a team of energy engineers and computer scientists, we developed a software solution for buildings and created setec smart efficiency. Thanks to the Internet of Things, we recover the relevant information of the buildings and accompany the customers in the implementation of action of improvement of the energy performance. Setec smart efficiency operates today in a start-up mode and is able to react quickly to client requests”

 

The first innovation contest launched in 2016 identified 5 winning teams whose projects showed real potential for development.  Highly supported during three months to challenge their idea, their product and their business model, the collaborators involved in this process, used all their energy and expertise to innovate.

Setec au cœur d’un écosystème lié au monde de l’innovation


Innover sans cesse et produire de nouvelles solutions pour construire un monde meilleur est le cercle vertueux sur lequel s’appuie setec depuis son origine.

A l’écoute du monde extérieur et résolument engagée dans une démarche d’innovation disruptive setec a inventé les setecLabs. Leur objectif : capter l’air du temps et de décrypter des tendances technologiques ou culturelles. Composés d’une trentaine de collaborateurs motivés issus de toutes les sociétés du groupe, ils détectent les projets et les idées innovantes, et les accompagnent pour les adapter au contexte métier et aux besoins clients. Cette démarche vient en complément des activités de recherche et développement propres à chaque filiale du groupe.

 

Aurélie Guillon, coordinatrice de la démarche d’innovation au sein du Groupe setec.
Aurélie Guillon, coordinatrice de la démarche d’innovation au sein du Groupe setec.

 

L’innovation, c’est un mot très à la mode. Avec les setecLabs, on a voulu comprendre de quoi il s’agissait vraiment, et trouver notre place dans cet écosystème. C’est une démarche agile qui se construit au fil du temps. La feuille de route des collaborateurs des setecLabs, c’était d’être les yeux et les oreilles du groupe pour identifier les idées qui vont changer le monde de demain en général, et la manière de faire de l’ingénierie en particulier. 

 

 

 

Pour comprendre et agir dans ce monde en mouvement, setec développe des partenariats auprès des acteurs majeurs du monde de l’innovation. Le dernier en date est un rapprochement avec l’IoT Valley, écosystème toulousain dédié aux objets connectés, emmené par la startup-licorne Sigfox, premier opérateur de réseau bas débit au monde.

Par ailleurs, pour la deuxième année consécutive, setec participe au challenge Datacity organisé par NUMA (accélérateur de startups et haut lieu de l’innovation parisien) et la Ville de Paris.

L’ambition de ce programme est de réunir partenaires industriels, acteurs publics et porteurs de projets autour de la smart city.

L’objectif ? Utiliser les données sans cesse plus nombreuses pour créer dès maintenant des solutions qui répondent aux besoins concrets des villes de demain.

setec est également partenaire depuis 2014 de l’accélérateur Impulse Labs Construction et Energie, et participe notamment aux comités de sélection des startups de l’incubateur Boucicaut, et a été accompagner le Club Open Innovation de Paris&Co dans des Learning Expeditions (Silicon Valley en 2014, Berlin en 2015).

Les ingénieurs entrepreneurs du monde de demain


setec soutient des startups externes (Blockbase et Padam), développe de nombreux partenariats et promeut l’intraprenariat (setec smart efficiency).

BulldozAIR by Blockbase
Solution collaborative pour les chantiers

Blockbase, une start-up née en 2012 au sein de l’incubateur Paris Innovation Boucicaut, a développé BulldozAIR, une solution mobile collaborative permettant à ses utilisateurs de suivre leurs chantiers en échangeant des notes ou des documents sur ordinateur, tablette ou smartphone.

setec soutient la startup dans son développement commercial et financier : Après élaboration d’un cahier de charges communs aux sociétés du groupe, la solution BulldozAIR a.été testée sur quatre chantiers pilotes, et est maintenant déployée sur des grands projets comme le Tramway des Maréchaux à Paris ou encore le RER Eole.

setec s’est également rapproché de la startup padam, qui propose des solutions de mobilité partagée à la demande.

L’intraprenariat comme modèle de développement

L’esprit startup est également présent/ancré au sein même du groupe, qui encourage l’intraprenariat : les bonnes idées sont détectées, challengées, expérimentées et si la viabilité économique est avérée, débouchent sur la création d’une filiale « spin-off ».

Ainsi, Setec Smart Efficiency a été créée en 2014 pour développer une offre sur l’amélioration de la performance énergétique des bâtiments. En 2017, la filiale emploie une quinzaine d’employés et continue son avancée en mode agile en proposant de nouveaux produits….

Cyril Sailly, dirigeant de setec smart efficiency.
Cyril Sailly, dirigeant de setec smart efficiency.

 

 J’ai commencé à travailler chez setec en tant qu’ingénieur en conception environnementale, en 2011. En 2014, avec une équipe composée d’énergéticiens et d’informaticiens, nous avons développé une solution logicielle pour les bâtiments et créé setec smart efficiency. Grâce à l’internet des objets, nous récupérons les informations pertinentes des bâtiments et accompagnons les clients dans la mise en place d’action d’amélioration de la performance énergétique. setec smart efficiency fonctionne aujourd’hui en mode start-up et est capable de réagir rapidement à des demandes clients. 

 

Le premier concours d’innovation lancé en 2016 a désigné 5 équipes lauréates dont les projets présentent de vrais potentiels de développement. Accompagnés de manière intensive pendant 3 mois pour challenger leur idée, leur produit, leur business model, les collaborateurs engagés dans cette démarche mettent à profit leur énergie et leur expertise pour innover.