“Firmly focused on the future and aware of the challenges, we are basing our commitment on three priorities: addressing the challenges of the ecological, climate and energy transition, overcoming the challenges of the digital transition, and pursuing our international development.

Michel Kahan, President of the setec group

 


Michel KahanIn 2020, setec group showed great resilience when the entire world was hit by a major crisis. All our teams sprang into action to stay in contact with our clients and partners and continue working on our projects. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our clients, who enabled us to maintain our business at 2019 levels overall. Of course, some sectors like aerospace, airports and hospitality were more impacted than others, but mutual support among our teams enabled many of our employees impacted by the crisis to be redeployed to other areas.

Our thoughts are with those who were affected and continue to be victims of the pandemic, as well as those around the world who the economic crisis has thrown into hardship across the world. This reinforces our idea of continually bringing more meaning to our actions and our projects.

 

In 2020, setec group companies continued to contribute together to some very fine projects. To name just a few, I will start with the EOLE (RER E extension) station under the CNIT building in La Défense, Paris. Being built in a very confined space 40 meters underground without disrupting local business activity, this new station presents a major challenge for setec group teams. Our work on the Grand Paris Express lines 14 South and 15 South is also making great strides forward.

Outside France, we are pursuing our design surveys for the HS2 high-speed rail line between London and Birmingham, Europe’s most important infrastructure project this decade, on behalf of the Eiffage, Kier, Ferrovial Construction and BAM Nuttall consortium. Designed to transport 30 million passengers, this network will boost the United Kingdom’s rail capacities. In Dakar, we are working on the TER, the first electric regional express train line in West Africa – an ambitious program with high-end equipment and cutting-edge technology.

These public-interest projects express the important role played by engineering in terms of surveys and building work, as well as the value brought to the local community.

 

And going forward, what is our commitment for the group? Firmly focused on the future and aware of the challenges, we are basing our commitment on three priorities: addressing the challenges of the ecological, climate and energy transition, overcoming the challenges of the digital transition, and pursuing our international development.

 

1. Addressing the challenges of the ecological, climate and energy transition

We are all responsible for our planet. Climate change is well underway and its consequences are now visible. Engineering companies have a role to play in facing this development and helping us build a world capable of mitigating the changes, adapting to them and shifting to a zero-carbon future. We are more aware than ever of these challenges and determined to take action. In fact, this is the reason for our Engineers & Citizens approach. It is designed for the long term with tangible action, thanks to our “challenges” or working groups focused on low-carbon design, decarbonized mobility, local resilience and employee skills development on these topics. I hope we will embrace these challenges, by applying all our engineering expertise.

 

 2 . Overcoming the challenges of the digital transition

With big data, artificial intelligence, connected objects, smart cities, machine learning and more, progress in digital technology is shaking up every sector of activity. We are pushing forward our professions determinedly, seizing these new opportunities to improve sustainability and make the best use of bridges and tunnels, infrastructures, buildings, mobility services and cities.

 

3. Pursuing our international development

Our ambition is to accelerate and consolidate our international growth by expanding our local operations in Latin America, Africa, Europe and the Middle East. In 2020, we reinforced our presence in the Middle East with the acquisition of Alpin, a company specialized in energy and environmental performance.

Our organization as expert, manageable-size companies free of excessive hierarchy, and our independence enable us to offer our employees the chance to express their talents and innovate to tackle the major transitions underway.

If this challenge inspires you, please join us!

« Résolument tournés vers l’avenir et conscients de ses enjeux, nous appuyons notre développement sur 3 piliers: la prise en main des défis de la transition écologique, climatique et énergétique, des défis de la transition numérique et la poursuite de notre développement à l’international »

Michel Kahan, Président du groupe setec

 


Michel Kahan
Michel Kahan, Président du Groupe setec

En 2020, le groupe setec a fait preuve d’une grande résilience alors que le monde entier traversait une crise majeure.

Toutes les équipes se sont mobilisées pour rester en contact avec nos clients et partenaires et continuer à servir nos projets. Nous tenons ici à remercier l’ensemble de nos clients qui nous ont permis de maintenir globalement notre activité au niveau de 2019.

 

Bien sûr, certains secteurs comme l’aéronautique, l’aéroportuaire et l’hôtellerie ont été plus touchés, mais une grande solidarité a joué dans nos équipes pour reconvertir nombre de nos collaborateurs impactés par la crise, vers d’autres sujets.

 

Nos pensées vont vers ceux qui ont été touchés et continuent d’être victimes de la pandémie et vers ceux que la crise économique a jeté dans une grande précarité à travers le monde. Cela nous renforce dans l’idée de donner toujours plus de sens à nos actions et à nos projets.

 

En 2020, les sociétés du groupe ont continué à contribuer, ensemble, à de très beaux projets. Pour n’en citer que quelques-uns, j’évoquerais la gare d’EOLE, extension du RER E, sous la voûte du CNIT à la Défense, à Paris. Construite dans un espace très contraint, à 40 mètres sous terre, sans interrompre l’activité économique, cette nouvelle gare représente un défi majeur pour les équipes du groupe setec. Nos autres travaux du Grand Paris Express sur la ligne 14 Sud et la ligne 15 Sud avancent eux aussi à grands pas.

 

A l’international, nous poursuivons les études de la ligne ferroviaire à grande vitesse entre Londres et Birmingham, le projet d’infrastructure européen le plus important de la décennie, pour le compte du groupement constructeur Eiffage, Kier, Ferrovial et BAM. Appelé à transporter 30 millions de personnes, ce réseau viendra renforcer les capacités ferroviaires du Royaume-Uni. A Dakar, nous intervenons sur la première ligne de TER électrifiée en Afrique de l’Ouest. Un programme ambitieux, avec des équipements haut de gamme et un matériel à la pointe des technologies actuelles.

Autant de projets d’intérêt public, dans lesquels le sens de l’ingénierie s’exprime par la réalisation des études et des travaux ainsi que par leur valeur ajoutée pour la collectivité.

 

Et pour la suite, quel est notre engagement pour le groupe ?  

 

Résolument tournés vers l’avenir et conscients de ses enjeux, nous appuyons notre engagement sur 3 piliers : la prise en main des défis de la transition écologique, climatique et énergétique, des défis de la transition numérique et la poursuite de notre développement à l’international.

 

1. Prendre en main les défis de la transition écologique, climatique et énergétique.

Nous avons tous une responsabilité vis-à-vis de notre planète. Le changement climatique est un processus largement engagé et ses conséquences sont désormais visibles. Pour faire face à cette évolution et nous aider à construire un monde capable d’atténuer ces changements, de s’y adapter et de prendre dès aujourd’hui le virage d’un futur décarboné, les sociétés d’ingénierie ont un rôle à jouer. Nous sommes plus que jamais conscients de ces enjeux et déterminés à agir en conséquence. Tel est d’ailleurs le sens de notre démarche Ingénieurs & Citoyens. Elle s’inscrit dans la durée et s’accompagne d’actions concrètes, au travers de nos « défis », groupes de travail dédiés à la conception bas carbone, à la mobilité décarbonée, à la résilience des territoires, ainsi qu’à la montée en compétence de nos collaborateurs sur ces sujets. Je souhaite que nous prenions ses défis à bras le corps en y mettant notre savoir-faire d’ingénierie experte

 

2.  Relever les défis de la transition numérique

Big data, intelligence artificielle, objets connectés, smart cities, machine learning… Les progrès technologiques numériques bouleversent tous les secteurs d’activité. Nous faisons résolument évoluer nos métiers en profitant de ces nouvelles opportunités, pour les mettre au service de la durabilité et d’une meilleure exploitation des ouvrages, des infrastructures, des bâtiments, des services à la mobilité et de la ville.

 

3. Poursuivre notre développement à l’international

Nous avons pour ambition d’accélérer et de consolider notre croissance à l’international, en faisant grandir nos implantations locales, en Amérique latine, en Afrique, en Europe et au Moyen-Orient. En 2020, nous avons renforcé notre présence au Moyen Orient, avec l’acquisition d’Alpin, une société spécialisée dans la performance énergétique et environnementale.

Notre organisation en sociétés expertes, à taille humaine, sans hiérarchie excessive, et notre indépendance, nous permettent de donner à nos collaborateurs la chance de pouvoir exprimer leurs talents et d’innover pour faire face aux grandes transitions.

 

Si ce challenge vous passionne, n’hésitez-pas, rejoignez-nous.