A critical expertise with strong added value


Geotechnical engineering is a particularly complex and constantly evolving discipline. In an increasingly constrained environment, our objective is two-fold: to guarantee the stability of the structures while optimizing the projects.

For around 40 years, setec has offered specific expertise in this field, gaining a reputation in France and worldwide through its work for high-profile clients on all types of geotechnical projects.

 

11 M€ annual revenue in 2016
An 80 -strong dedicated team
40 years of expertise

A comprehensive range of tailor-made services


Our geotechnical engineering services cover:

  • All types of structures (bridges and viaducts, underground works, roads and railways, buildings, ports, etc.), as well as natural risks (landslides, cavities, seisms, etc.)
  • Every project phase: preliminary studies, assistance to owners, geotechnical analyses, design and construction supervision, assistance to contractors, detailed design, independent engineer, diagnostic and expertise.

We contribute to global projects handled by setec group (typically for civil engineering and high-rise buildings projects) and also provide specific geotechnical services directly to external clients (project owners/managers, contractors, industry, etc.)

 

Morocco


MOHAMED VI BRIDGE

Ashegoda, Ethiopia


 Ethiopia Anchoring micropiles for wind turbines

Morocco


Casablanca Finance City Tower


In addition, we offer the following areas of specific geotechnical expertise:

  • Development and marketing of geotechnical calculation software (Terrasol)
  • Single- and multi-company training in France and worldwide, focusing on geotechnical modelling (defining parameters, applying standards, using software, etc.)
  • Materials: weathering, geomaterials and special grout formulation
  • Subsurface geophysics

Expertise laboratoire d’altération

We’ve always focused exclusively on intellectual services and above all, made significant and continuous investments in scientific developments, whether on our own or as part of the scientific community, to develop the most reliable and effective innovative approaches. This is Terrasol’s DNA!
Valérie Bernhardt, General Manager of Terrasol and Chair of the French Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (CFMS)

An innovative approach, renowned for its added value in terms of project safety and optimization


Couverture de l’ouvrage des recommandations ASIRI.

Numerous scientific developments within the group enable us to take an innovative, effective approach. These geotechnical developments are made possible notably through our strong involvement in the scientific community:

  • Our active participation in numerous research projects, both externally (e.g. RUFEX, SOLCYP and ARSCOP to mention the most recent) and internally (“CIFRE” PhDs)
  • Our participation in the bodies and working groups of many professional societies (CFMS/ISSMGE, CFMR, CFGI, AFTES, AFPS, CFBR, etc.) and standards agencies
  • Frequent publications in specialised journals or at geotechnical conferences
  • Our involvement in teaching (basic and continuing education)

Among the topics we have worked on over the past few years are: soil-structure interaction, seismic design, thermo-mechanical models, geotechnical risk analysis, and offshore wind farm foundations.

A prominent name in dedicated calculation software


 

 

Copie d’écran Talren v5

The group has developed its own suite of geotechnical calculation software. These software (Terrasol) have been on the market for more than 20 years and are now widely known. Talren, a tool for verifying the overall stability of geotechnical structures, is our flagship product. Developed to meet in-house needs in the 1980s, it quickly attracted interest from other organizations such as EDF and Soletanche, and rapidly became a leader on the market. Our other software packages (Foxta for designing foundations, and K-Réa for checking the design of retaining walls) have followed the same path.

We have also developed Straticad, a practical tool for processing geotechnical data in AutoCAD©.

Remarkable work on all types of geotechnical projects


Infrastructures

One of the most iconic structures for which the group has provided geotechnical expertise is the Millau Viaduct. We can also mention prestigious projects such as the Mohammed VI Bridge in Morocco, the Corniche road in Brazzaville, the Third Bosphorus bridge in Turkey, and the Hong Kong – Zuhai – Macao link, which includes a 9.4 km viaduct. setec has also studied the foundations of numerous rail bridges in urban environments, and contributed to transport projects such as motorways and high-speed rail lines (civil engineering structures and standard sections).

Riviera Marcory Viaduct – Côte d’Ivoire
Millau Viaduct- France

In addition, the group works on numerous major underground structures. On the “Grand Paris Express” rapid transit project, for example, setec is carrying out a variety of geotechnical tasks: design and construction project management, technical assistance to owner, services to contractors (assistance during tender phases, detailed design, etc.).

Gare du Grand Paris
Grand Paris Express – France

setec is also developing its geotechnical business in ports and airports.

Buildings

In this field, we work on issues concerning retaining structures and foundations, for high-rise buildings (various towers in La Défense in Paris, the Entisar Tower and Dubai Creek Harbour Tower in Dubai, etc.), exceptional projects such as the Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris, and more classic underpinning operations.

Fondation Louis Vuitton – France

Energy

Highly engaged in projects for power plants and the oil & gas sector (e.g. the Shah Deniz project in Azerbaijan for Entrepose Projets), we typically work on designing foundations or soil reinforcement solutions to ensure the structural stability of the facilities.

Setec has also integrated renewable energies (onshore and offshore wind farms, photovoltaic power stations, etc.) into its geotechnical expertise. For example, the company conducted geotechnical studies for the Ashegoda wind farm in Ethiopia, involving 84 turbines with a total power of 120 MW.

International


In geotechnics, we have a long tradition of working worldwide on a range of assignments (supervision of soil investigation campaigns, studies, works supervision, independent engineering, diagnostic and expertises, etc.) and for various types of clients (local, international or French). Our expertise knows no geographical borders, and we regularly offer our expertise on every continent!

Currently, we are pursuing our international development, in line with the ambition of setec group as a whole.

Une expertise incontournable, à forte valeur ajoutée


Discipline particulièrement complexe, la géotechnique est en évolution constante. Dans un environnement toujours plus contraignant,  notre objectif est double : garantir la stabilité des ouvrages, tout en optimisant les projets.

Depuis près de 40 ans, setec propose un savoir-faire spécifique dans ce domaine, reconnu en France comme à l’international, et dispose de références emblématiques sur l’ensemble des types d’ouvrages géotechniques.

11 M€ de CA en 2016
80 Personnes dédiées
40 Années de savoir-faire

Des prestations complètes


Nos activités en ingénierie géotechnique portent :

  • sur tous types d’ouvrages (ouvrages d’art, travaux souterrains, ouvrages linéaires, bâtiments, ouvrages portuaires…) ainsi que sur les thématiques de risques naturels (glissements, cavités, risque sismique…).
  • et sur toutes les phases d’un projet : études préliminaires, assistance à maîtrise d’ouvrage, synthèses géotechniques,  prestations de maîtrise d’œuvre (études et travaux), assistance en phase d’appel d’offres, études d’exécution,  contrôle externe ou encore diagnostics/expertises.

Il peut s’agir aussi bien d’interventions dans le cadre de projets intégrés au niveau groupe (le plus souvent dans le cadre d’opérations de maîtrise d’œuvre en génie civil), que de prestations spécifiques en géotechnique assurées directement pour des clients extérieurs (Maîtres d’Ouvrage, Maîtres d’œuvre, entreprises, industriels, etc).

 

 

Maroc


PONT MOHAMED VI

Ashegoda, Ethiopie


 Micropieux d’ancrage pour haubans d’éoliennes

Maroc


Tour Casablanca Finance City.


Par ailleurs, le groupe propose plusieurs autres expertises dans le domaine géotechnique:

  • développement et commercialisation de plusieurs logiciels de calcul géotechnique (logiciels Terrasol)
  • formations inter- et intra-entreprises, en France et à l’étranger, portant sur la modélisation d’ouvrages géotechniques (détermination des paramètres, application des normes, application des logiciels…)
  • matériaux : altération, géomatériaux, formulation de coulis spéciaux  géophysique de subsurface

Expertise laboratoire d’altération               

Nous avons toujours fait le choix de nous consacrer exclusivement aux activité intellectuelles en géotechnique, et surtout, nous avons toujours fortement investi dans les développements scientifiques, que ce soit en propre ou au sein de la Communauté Scientifique, afin de développer des approches novatrices toujours plus fiables et performantes.
Valérie Bernhardt, Directrice Générale Terrasol et présidente du CFMS (Comité Français de Mécanique des Sols et de Géotechnique).

Une approche novatrice, reconnue pour sa valeur ajoutée en termes de sécurisation et optimisation des projets


Couverture de l’ouvrage des recommandations ASIRI.

Dans le domaine géotechnique, les nombreux développements scientifiques au sein du groupe  nous permettent de développer une approche innovante et performante. Ces développements sont rendus possibles notamment grâce à notre forte implication dans la communauté scientifique. Celle-ci se manifeste au travers de :

  •  notre participation active à de nombreux projets de recherche (ASIRI, RUFEX, SOLCYP, ARSCOP pour citer les plus récents), et le développement d’actions de recherche en interne (thèses CIFRE),
  • notre participation aux instances et groupes de travail de plusieurs associations professionnelles (CFMS, CFMR, CFGI, AFTES, AFPS, CFBR etc) et d’organismes de normalisation,
  • nos nombreuses publications dans des revues spécialisées ou à l’occasion de congrès,
  • et enfin notre participation active à de nombreuses actions d’enseignement (formation initiale et continue).

Parmi les thèmes que nous avons développés ces dernières années, on peut citer : l’interaction sol-structure, le comportement parasismique des ouvrages,  les modèles thermomécaniques, l’analyse de risques en géotechnique, ou encore les fondations d’éoliennes offshore.

Une activité reconnue dans le domaine des logiciels de calcul dédiés


Le groupe  a fait le choix de développer ses propres logiciels de calcul en géotechnique. 

Copie d’écran Talren v5

Ces logiciels (Terrasol) sont  commercialisés depuis plus de 20 ans et aujourd’hui largement reconnus. Le logiciel Talren notamment, un outil de vérification de la stabilité globale des ouvrages géotechniques, illustre bien cette activité. Développé pour répondre à un besoin interne dans les années 1980, il a rapidement suscité l’intérêt d’organismes extérieurs tels qu’EDF ou Soletanche, pour devenir ensuite un logiciel de référence. Nos autres logiciels (Foxta pour le dimensionnement des fondations, et K-Réa pour la justification des écrans de soutènement) ont suivi le même parcours. Nous avons également développé Straticad, un outil très utile de représentation des données géotechniques sous Autocad©.

Des références riches sur tous types d’ouvrages géotechniques


Infrastructures

L’un des ouvrages les plus emblématiques sur lesquels le groupe a été amené à intervenir en géotechnique est le viaduc de Millau. Mais on peut citer aussi de nombreux autres ouvrages d’art prestigieux, tels que le Pont Mohammed VI au Maroc, la corniche de Brazzaville, le 3ème pont sur le Bosphore, ou encore la liaison Hong Kong – Zhuhai – Macao, comportant un viaduc de 9,4 km. Setec a également étudié les fondations de nombreux ponts-rail en milieu urbain, et intervient sur des projets linéaires tels que les autoroutes ou les lignes à grande vitesse (ouvrages d’art et section courante).

Viaduc Riviera Marcory – Côte d’Ivoire

Toujours dans le domaine des infrastructures, le groupe est également très présent en géotechnique dans le domaine des ouvrages souterrains. Sur le projet du Grand Paris Express par exemple, setec assure différents types de missions géotechniques selon les lots : maîtrise d’œuvre, assistance à Maîtrise d’Ouvrage, assistance en appel d’offres et/ou études d’exécution pour les entreprises.

 

Grand Paris Express

Et l’activité se développe aussi dans les domaines portuaires et aéroportuaires.

Bâtiment

Dans le domaine du bâtiment (problématiques de soutènements et fondations), nous intervenons sur des tours de grande hauteur (tours à  La Défense, Tours Entisar et Dubaï Creek Harbour à Dubaï…) ; sur des projets exceptionnels comme la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris, ou encore sur des reprises en sous-œuvre plus classiques.

 

Fondation Louis Vuitton – France

Energie

Fortement impliqués dans des projets de centrales électriques ou de réservoirs de pétrole ou de gaz (projet Shah Deniz en Azerbaïdjan pour Entrepose projets par exemple), nous intervenons le plus souvent pour le dimensionnement des fondations ou des solutions de renforcement de sol nécessaires pour assurer la stabilité des installations.

Porteuses de thématiques géotechniques, les énergies renouvelables (éoliennes onshore et offshore, centrales photovoltaïques, etc) entrent elles aussi dans notre champ de compétences, avec notamment les études géotechniques du projet Ashegoda Wind Farm en Ethiopie, un parc éolien de 84 machines, d’une puissance totale de 120 MW.

International


pont sur le BosphoreNous avons en géotechnique une longue tradition d’interventions à l’étranger, pour des missions de suivi de campagnes de reconnaissances, études, suivi de travaux, ou expertises, que ce soit pour des acteurs locaux, des sociétés internationales ou encore des clients français.

Nous intervenons régulièrement sur tous les continents, et ne nous fixons pas de frontières !

Et nous ambitionnons à présent de poursuivre ce développement à l’international, ambition en phase avec celle de l’ensemble du groupe setec.